Posted in Perspectives

Nothing New Under the Sun

“There is nothing new under the sun.”

At first glance, the statement doesn’t seem to warrant much consideration. But then I started thinking about it – and I mean really thinking about it –  and it basically sent me into an existential crisis.

Let me explain:

If we accept the premise that everything that there is to know has already been discovered and everything that can be created already has been, it means that we are doomed to an existence where we can only reproduce that which already exists, albeit in varying forms.

I mean, I’m not sure if this applies to everything because I’d like to think that all the beautiful works of art and literature in this world were the original works of spectacular minds and not simply reproductions of things they’ve seen/heard and buried in their subconscious minds. But have you ever tried to sit down and write something only to find that there are hundreds of books out there with essentially the same storyline as the one you had in mind? Obviously, this is only one example but I often wonder if – in an age where we are so easily able to find and share information, images, fashion trends, etc – if we aren’t all just recycling ideas to stay relevant and create the illusion for ourselves that we’re actually contributing something meaningful to the world…

It’s so easy to get sucked into it too – recreating someone else’s outfit, hairstyle or music. It’s part of our culture, part of what makes us connect with other people who share the same interests, but I can’t help but feel that is pack mentality strips us off an opportunity to ‘throw the box away’ so to speak and see what is beyond that which exists and that which we know (That is to say, if there is something beyond that which we know).

P.S.This whole random rant stems from an internal struggle between a desire to create and the acceptance of the insignificance and mediocrity of my contributions to this big blue rock we all call home.

P.P.S. I realised that I’m being a little ridiculous in all this, (I’m not even sure if I’ve made sense) but we have to allow ourselves to be publically ridiculous every now and then.

Let me know what you think.

