Posted in Creative Writing

The Wall Clock

There was once a wall clock
that broke
and was never replaced,
for this clock had always
been a fixture
in a home filled
with precious things,
beautiful and rare
and the clock…

no one had ever noticed
its presence
no one would feel
its absence

[I wrote this one about a year ago. At the time, I think I was just feeling as if I was lost in a sea of “precious things” – people who seemed smarter, more talented and more resilient than I was. And I was the clock, barely worth noticing. I recognise that the poem’s not particularly good, but the emotions it carries, those feelings of worthlessness, it’s not something you easily forget.]

Let me know what you think.

