Posted in Perspectives

Human

I feel as if the world expects us to have our lives together every minute of every day. Even though many of us live extremely fast-paced lives, we’re expected to be on top of things all time. Regardless of the pressure and fatigue of a given situation, there’s barely ever room for mistakes.

It’s rather sad because humans are inherently imperfect beings, so if society has us striving towards perfection (which rejects our very nature) aren’t we spending our whole lives chasing impossible standards only to be disappointed time and time again?

We need room to make mistakes. We need room to not feel as if we’re suffocating all the damn time. I mean, even when we give ourselves a break it doesn’t mean that anyone else will. I’d just like a little breathing room… a tiny crack in the wall of existence where I can let the human seep out of me.


		
One thought on “Human

  1. Reblogged this on Writing In Soliloquies and commented:

    Sometimes I get so caught up in what other people expect from me that I forget to focus on what I want and what I’m capable of.
    I have to remind myself every day that it’s okay not to be perfect.

    Like

Let me know what you think.

