Posted in Perspectives

Story Time: Coffee and Disaster

I had my first cup of coffee when I was nine, got up to three cups a day in high school and by the time I reached university I’d sometimes have something like seven cups of coffee on some days. Though, in my defense, how else are you supposed to manage on less than four hours of sleep a night?

I never considered that my coffee drinking habits could be a problem until one day, the thing I cherished most in life (next to chocolate, of course) turned on me.

It was one cold, cheerless Friday morning. I’d just left one of my classes and I had about an hour to cram for an anatomy test. So, I found a quiet corner outside of the test venue, took out my laptop and notes, plugged in my earphones and began to revise for all I was worth.

My flask, filled with strong black coffee, was standing open next to me. I’d made it only a few hours before and it was still too hot to drink. I’d taken off the lid to help it cool down faster. Somewhere in the back of my head, I knew this was a bad idea, but I took great care to put the open flask as far away from me as possible. I suppose my biggest mistake that day was underestimating just how clumsy and awkward I am.

Honestly, I even remember moving the flask out of elbows’ reach just in case I knocked it over by some freak accident…

Well, I’m sure you can guess what happened next. It was about 15 minutes before the test, my laptop and the entire table was covered in black coffee and my notes had turned into brown mush. I only just manage to mop up the worst of the mess, pack away my things and get to my test on time.

Thankfully, my laptop survived the debacle and is fully functional except for the lovely brown coffee stains on the edge of the screen.

Since that incident, I’ve kept a healthy distance between coffee and myself. And my laptop screen remains as a healthy reminder that the things you love can always turn on you.

Let me know what you think.

