Posted in Creative Writing

Classroom

the fluorescent light wraps
live wires around my brain
sending barbed-wire signals
through every nerve.
My eyes hurt.
I can feel everything.
You don’t see anything.

the chatter pours itself
like thick syrup into my ears
and the sticky words
clog every artery.
My head feels heavy.
I can’t focus on anything.
You hear everything.

and I know you laugh
because my hands
quiver without reason.
I don’t think like you
I can’t be like you

and I know you laugh
because I count my breaths
to keep them steady.
I don’t think like you
I can’t be like you

You talk over each other
adding your two cents
to the conversation and wonder
why I don’t speak
when we don’t all start out
with the same amount of money

and I won’t use the words
they use as bricks to build towers
for people with crumbling cities;
people throw them:
“you’re making it up for attention”
“it isn’t real”

Let me know what you think.

