Posted in Creative Writing

Bedsheets

My sheet came off my mattress last night.
Too much tossing and turning, I guess.
This morning I did not make my bed.
I had no interest in hiding imperfections
or fixing them.

Ironically, everyone said I look happy today.

I came back to my room at lunch
and straightened my covers,
leaving the sheet untouched –
savouring the irony
of a fitted sheet that doesn’t fit.

You have to lie in the bed you make, they say.
You get what you deserve, they say.

Let me know what you think.

