Posted in Perspectives

Oversharing on Social Media

How much is too much? This is a question I always ask myself before every post on every platform, with the result that I often post nothing at all.

Social interaction makes me nervous, whether online or in person, but lately, I’ve wanted to become more active on social media for two reasons: as an act of bravery to overcome my evident social phobia and to connect with more like-minded people. However, when I scroll through my old tweets or remember my cringy Facebook post from five years ago, I always think “wow, maybe you shouldn’t have said that.”

So again, how much is too much? To be honest, I’m not quite sure. Obviously, there are certain things you should never post online – your personal information, pictures of what you were doing when you were off work “sick”, etc – but, how deeply should you let complete strangers peer into your life.

It’s a tricky balance to strike. Share too much and you might look back in a few years regretting all of it. Someone could even use something you said back then against you in some very scary ways. On the other hand, if you share too little, you run the risk of appearing disinterested or insincere.

Who knew navigating social media would come down to an exact science. I’ve always been good at science, but this one is taking me a little longer to crack. Maybe the only solution is to not think about anything you put out there, embrace the cringe and deal with the consequences later.

2 thoughts on “Oversharing on Social Media

  1. I don’t keep anything but fb messenger these days but before that, I noticed a *distinct* lowering of my willing idiocy level after I had kids (or after my oldest hit K anyway). I think before that…well, idk what I was thinking. Embarrassing. 😭

    Like

Let me know what you think.

