Posted in Perspectives

What Should I Do With My Life?

Two weeks ago, my friends and I were sitting down for lunch between classes when I received a frantic message from my little sister:

“I’m not sure what I want in life.”

I was a little taken aback. Firstly, because the message came out of nowhere (we hadn’t spoken in about a week) and secondly, because when I was fourteen I wasn’t really spending a lot of time fixated on what I wanted in life. I was mostly trying to get through school, figuring things out as I went along.

So, I responded in the most cliche way possible. I asked her, “What gets you out of bed in the morning?”

“If sleep were a job, I’d be a zillionaire,” she replied and then as an afterthought added, “and writing.”

Now, this really surprised me. She’s spoken about her love for art and photography, but never writing. I was ecstatic to find we had something in common. However, as the conversation wore on, I discovered we shared another thing in common: a lack of motivation. She didn’t know where to start. She didn’t know how to start. I feel the same. I’m always sitting on so many ideas but as soon as I try to get them down on paper, I sort of freeze up, directionless. Maybe, this is something a lot of writers have in common.

I feel the same. I’m always sitting on so many ideas but as soon as I try to get them down on paper, I sort of freeze up, directionless. Maybe, this is something a lot of writers have in common.

It’s easy to forget why you began writing. Life is distracting enough for us to forget. I started writing for the sheer pleasure of bringing the imagination to life, for the release of emotion and for the thrill of knowing that maybe you could change someone’s life with your words.

It’s so easy to forget that burning passion.

I guess the key to pursuing something you love is to never forget why you started. Remember the feeling in your chest when you wrote your first story and don’t let that go. On some days it might be the only thing that will keep you going.

I hope now that my sister has figured out what she wants in life, that she will keep pushing until her dreams materialise. I hope the same for myself, and for you.

One thought on “What Should I Do With My Life?

  1. I think it is a good idea to start slow! Maybe 15 minutes before bed, or right when you wake up! You do not necessarily need to have a hard-defined direction (so scary, right?!), you just need to take a small amount of time and see where it goes!

    Liked by 1 person

Let me know what you think.

